everwatch.rb not populating the Marked Preview.md file

kburke12's Avatar

kburke12

09 May, 2012 07:36 PM

Following the instructions, I installed the everwatch.rb script, converted it to executable, and ran the script, opened Evernote, and opened Marked and the Marked Preview.md file created by the script. I then edited a Markdown file in Evernote and saved. No joy. The Marked Preview file opens fine, the script appears to be running, but no content ever populates Marked Preview.md.

I verified that the Evernote data directory location in the script was correct. And that's where I am. Running Mac OS X Lion 10.7.3, Evernote Version 3.1.1 (248775).

I'm a content guy, not a developer, but am fairly savvy (and have very competent friends). Is this happening to others? Is there a fix or some thought about what to look at?

Thanks!

  1. Support Staff 2 Posted by Brett on 09 May, 2012 09:09 PM

    Brett's Avatar

    I was informed two days ago that the update that just came out broke the everwatch system. I'll be looking into is as soon as I can.

  2. 3 Posted by kburke12 on 09 May, 2012 09:18 PM

    kburke12's Avatar

    Ah, the nature of life! Thanks for the quick response. Really looking forward to integrating Marked into my Evernote workflow. Marked is proving to be more and more valuable as I move more of my writing and content creation to MarkDown/MultiMarkdown. Great little solution!

    Thanks!

    Ken

  3. Support Staff 4 Posted by Brett on 09 May, 2012 09:34 PM

    Brett's Avatar

    Just found it. Change line 8 to:

    watch_folder = File.expand_path("~/Library/Application Support/Evernote/accounts/Evernote")
    

    (the path is ~/Library/Application Support/Evernote/accounts/Evernote)

    Should be good to go. I'll update the Bonus Pack soon.

  4. 5 Posted by kburke12 on 09 May, 2012 10:14 PM

    kburke12's Avatar

    I copy pasted the change, made sure it was correct, and saved the script. Ran the script from the Terminal, opened the newly created Marked Preview.md, and updated a MarkDown formatted note in Evernote and saved. The Terminal shows lots of activity, but nothing populates the actual Marked Preview.md window. Thoughts?

  5. Support Staff 6 Posted by Brett on 09 May, 2012 10:16 PM

    Brett's Avatar

    I'm having someone try out the version of the script I'm using for testing, I'll post results here. I can verify that the tweak makes it work for me without any issues. Will update.

  6. 7 Posted by kburke12 on 17 May, 2012 05:35 PM

    kburke12's Avatar

    Any word from your tester? Just wondering if "it's not you, it's me..." and I need to go figure out what's gone off track locally.

  7. Support Staff 8 Posted by Brett on 24 May, 2012 02:06 PM

    Brett's Avatar

    Nope, I lost touch with the guy who was trying it out. It's still working for me right now, but I'll find some more testers before I make any definitive statements.

  8. 9 Posted by kburke12 on 24 May, 2012 05:34 PM

    kburke12's Avatar

    Thanks for the update. I'm going to walk the path again over the weekend just to look again for breaks in how I have it configured. If I find anything, I'll let you know what I tweaked and the outcome.

  9. 10 Posted by Jeff F. on 18 Jun, 2012 06:23 PM

    Jeff F.'s Avatar

    I wanted to let you know that after making the change to watch_file, the preview is working for me from Evernote.

    However, the strangest formatting error is happening with markdown in Evernote, but not Vim. This: (i'm using code indent here to Tender doesn't eat my *)

     * One
        * Two
    

    is generating

    • One *Two
    instead of
    • One
      • Two

    Marked works correctly with the same text copied/pasted into vim.

    The other markdown i've tested is working, but I haven't gone too far since indented lists are my most used markdown feature. I did try ordered lists instead, but got the same result: anything indented is added to the previous item, as above.

    I am not seeing any errors from the watcher script.

  10. 11 Posted by kburke12 on 18 Jun, 2012 06:32 PM

    kburke12's Avatar

    Thanks - I'll dig back into my implementation of the script. Since I can "see" the script watching changes in Terminal, it's likely I missed a small, but crucial, step.

  11. 12 Posted by Dan Rosenstark on 29 Nov, 2012 04:24 AM

    Dan Rosenstark's Avatar

    I ran into this same problem and the thread helped. If you don't mind, here's my solution for preserving HTML selectively in the integration.

    http://compileyouidontevenknowyou.blogspot.com/2012/11/everwatch-ev...

    Now I can finally stop using nvAlt (at least for a few days)...

  12. Support Staff 13 Posted by Brett on 13 Dec, 2012 01:57 AM

    Brett's Avatar

    I started playing around with your version, Dan, and it works well with the new Evernote. I started noticing how bad a job textutil does, though. I hooked it up through my read2text hack and I'm getting much better results.

    Also, I found a node.js package called html-md that does an even better job of converting HTML to Markdown, if you have node installed.

    I'll try to work up a version to include in the Bonus Pack soon.

  13. Brett closed this discussion on 13 Dec, 2012 01:57 AM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac