Footnotes again

thebookbloke

19 Nov, 2019 06:38 AM

Hi Brett

I'm new to Markdown and so it's probably me rather than Marked 2.

I'm finding conflicting suggestions of how to handle footnotes in md. None of them seem to render properly in Marked. Here's an example of an inline footnote:

Their marriage certificate and entry in the marriage register names Henry III’s father as Henry George Lovett (Henry II)[^Register of Marriages - St Phillip’s, Battersea (Apr 1880-Dec 1883) London Metropolitan Archives P70/PHI item 010 p 43].

If I preview this in Byword or in nvAlt, it appears as I would hope. That is, I get a superscript number in the text and a footnote giving the details at the end of the text. If I add another note a bit further along, then it also appears correctly both in the text and at the end - the number is incremented as expected.

However in Marked 2, nothing happens - the text appears exactly the same as in the original, that is, no superscript number nor footnote at the end.

Any thoughts welcomed.

Best

Mick

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Brett on 19 Nov, 2019 03:14 PM

Ok:

1. Your syntax as is works fine with the MultiMarkdown processor, so I'm assuming you have GFM selected under Preferences->Processor. Unless you specifically need some part of the Github Flavored Markdown spec, I would switch to MMD.

2. Alternatively, you could consider using the reference version of the footnote syntax. The inline version you're using is only for MultiMarkdown, but the following style works with GFM as well:

Their marriage certificate and entry in the marriage register names Henry III’s father as Henry George Lovett (Henry II)[^fn1].

[^fn1]: Register of Marriages - St Phillip’s, Battersea (Apr 1880-Dec 1883) London 
      Metropolitan Archives P70/PHI item 010 p 43

3. Based on the content of your footnote in the example, you may actually prefer to use Citation formatting (again, MMD only).

Hope that helps.