MarsEdit Preview ... doesn't

Allison Sheridan's Avatar

Allison Sheridan

24 Jul, 2018 12:03 AM

// Please enter a detailed description of the issue // Description of the issue:

MarsEdit Preview isn't working

// Please enter a list of steps required to reproduce the issue // Steps to reproduce:

  1. Open MarsEdit
  2. Open a post from within MarsEdit
  3. Open Marked
  4. Choose Preview → MarsEdit Preview
  5. Nothing happens

Figured sending you a ticket would tickle your curiosity on what I showed you at Macstock. So lovely to have spent so much time with you.

// If applicable please attach a sample document that causes the issue for you.

Couldn't think of how to send you a file from MarsEdit, so here's some version info to entertain you instead:
MarsEdit is version 4.1.2 (8677) from the Mac App Store
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6

// Configuration (do not edit) Marked 2 922 (Direct)

OS X Version: 10.13.6

additionalMathJaxConfig:
allowPageBreakInCode: 1
bookTxtIsLeanpub: 0
codeIsPoetry: 0
collapsibleHeadlines: 0
convertGithubCheckboxes: 1
convertYAMLToMMD: 0
defaultMathJaxConfig: TeX-AMS-MML_HTMLorMML
defaultPreviewStyle: swiss
defaultProcessor: MultiMarkdown
enableMiniMap: 0
excludeBlockQuotesFromCounts: 0
excludeFootnotesFromCounts: 0
excludeVerbatimFromCounts: 0
excludeCaptionsFromCounts: 0
folderPreviewExtensionsArray: md, markdown, txt, mdown, html, opml
githubNewlines: 1
h1IsPageBreak: 0
h2IsPageBreak: 0
hrIsPageBreak: 0
includeMathJax: 0
limitTextWidth: 0
minimalJavaScript: 0
outlineModeExtensions:
permissionGranted: 0
printHeaderBottomLeft:
printHeaderBottomRight:
printHeaderFooterFirstPage: 0
printHeaderTopLeft:
printHeaderTopRight:
processHTMLFiles: 1
removeMetadataForPreview: 0
removeYAMLHeaders: 0
scrollToEdit: 1
shouldDetectCritic: 1
shouldHighlightMarkupErrors: 0
shouldLoadCritic: 0
syntaxHighlight: 0

  1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Brett on 24 Jul, 2018 03:20 PM

    Brett's Avatar

    So this is definitely a Marked issue and not a MarsEdit issue. Marked
    should be opening a window with a scratch file, at which point it checks
    if ME is running and uses AppleScript to get the contents of the window
    and various fields. The fact that it's not opening the window at all is
    where the issue lies. Testing on my own machine I'm not having the issue
    at all.

    Could you open console to System Log and open Help->Show Debug Log in
    Marked and then try choosing Preview->MarsEdit Preview and see if any
    errors are posted to either log?

    Thanks,
    Brett

  2. 2 Posted by Allison Sherida... on 24 Jul, 2018 05:03 PM

    Allison Sheridan's Avatar

    I opened system.log in console.app and it did not give me any errors when I asked Marked to do a MarsEdit Preview.

    My version of Marked doesn't have a "show debug log" under Help:

    Do I need to enable debug mode in Marked?

    Al

  3. Support Staff 3 Posted by Brett on 24 Jul, 2018 05:24 PM

    Brett's Avatar

    Yes, enabling Debug Mode -> All under Preferences->Advanced should help

    -Brett

  4. 4 Posted by Allison Sherida... on 24 Jul, 2018 05:47 PM

    Allison Sheridan's Avatar

    Still nuthin'.

    Here's a video in case I'm being an idiot:

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/vtwmigr1ofw42pi/allison_debug_2018-07-24.mov?dl=0

  5. Support Staff 5 Posted by Brett on 24 Jul, 2018 06:38 PM

    Brett's Avatar

    Did you get the Marked debug log to show up?

    I'm also curious if there's any chance it's opening the window
    offscreen. If you right click on the icon, does it show a "MarsEdit
    Preview" window under open windows at all?

    -Brett

  6. 6 Posted by Allison Sherida... on 24 Jul, 2018 07:53 PM

    Allison Sheridan's Avatar

    The video I sent shows the Marked debug log on screen and staying blank (as is the console window).

    I wondered about it being off screen too, but no, it's not listed in the Window menu.

    I tested the clipboard preview and it pops up as you would expect.

    Mystified in LA

  7. Support Staff 7 Posted by Brett on 24 Jul, 2018 08:01 PM

    Brett's Avatar

    I'm going to have to do some further testing on this. I'll keep you
    posted if I need any more testing on your end!

    Thanks,
    Brett

  8. 8 Posted by Allison Sherida... on 24 Jul, 2018 09:47 PM

    Allison Sheridan's Avatar

    I had another thought, but it didn't pan out. Might still be a clue. You know the Quick Start window that comes up and you choose between code and prose? I've been using prose, so perhaps you're using code? Flipping it didn't fix it but I thought I'd mention it.

    I tested in a clean Admin account and it still didn't work.

    Any tests you want me to try, I'm there.

    Al

Reply to this discussion

Internal reply

Formatting help / Preview (switch to plain text) No formatting (switch to Markdown)

Attaching KB article:

»

Attached Files

You can attach files up to 10MB

If you don't have an account yet, we need to confirm you're human and not a machine trying to post spam.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac